Zak

DWC Virgin (Philippines)

17 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Hello to all and greetings from El Nido, Palawan in the Philippines. 

I am completely new to aquaponics but have jumped right in at the deep end and am in the process of building a small 70sqm greenhouse in which I aim to produce 2000 heads of assorted lettuce each month in a DWC system. 

I have done a fair bit of research over the past year but now its crunch time with the main construction almost complete so I am probably going to have a lot if silly questions concerning plumbing and aeration real soon. 

I do hope that you guys can me in my quest to feed-the-need in El Nido. 

Heres a photo of my earthbag build so far and theres another of my local beach so you know who I am and where I am. 

I very much look forward to being a part of your community 

image.jpg

image.jpg

Edited by Zak
Typos (see edit history)
bigdaddy likes this

Zak, welcome. Looks like a great build. I look forward to lots of updates on your progress. 

Zak likes this

Hi Zak

Welcome to APN/HQ

Nice pics thanks for sharing :)

cheers

Zak likes this

So, the shade cloth is fitted to the south facing roof as is the ventilation / mozzie screen. Just need to tidy that up this week then onto the dreaded plumbing. 

Heres a couple of updated photos. Whilst I am here I should explain how the set up is 'supposed' to work. 

There are 4 fishtanks of approximately 2 cubic metres apiece. 

There will be 2 x 1" venturi attached to each, taking all the fish waste collectively via a 3" pipe to a radial flow filter which is around 1 cubic metre. The overflow from the radial flow filter will then drop into the sump which is the whole length of the greenhouse and will contain filter screen and airstones to hopefully ensure that once the water gets from end 'a' to end 'b' the remaining suspended solids have either been caught or have settled.