3 posts in this topic

Hello everyone. I'm new to the concept of "Microponics". I have a couple aquaponics systems in my back yard. I'm also into Rabbitry and Permaculture as well. I've got a few chickens that lay me plenty of eggs and produce grade A fertilizer. I would love to know if anyone has some tips on doing Microponics in climates like mine. For starters we get crazy weather down here.  One minute it's bone dry and then bam... Crazy rain storms with high winds etc. Another real big challenge is the horribly sandy soil. On the plus side it drains nice and cuts down on the root rot. We also have a problem with fruit rats. They are horrible. I use Tom Cat baits to work with them but there must be a better way. It seems like if you don't put out the Tom Cat poison, they will take a nibble out of every vegetable and fruit in your backyard. Last but not least... We've got bugs like no other place in country. They should make the mosquito into the state bird.  The Tiger Mosquitos here are big enough to stand flat footed and hump a chicken.

Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Daniel Jerome

Palm Harbor, FL

Old Prospector and GaryD like this

Greetings DanJerome.

We have similar downpours here.  We're probably even in the same zone.  I'm 9B.  What are you?