Mikhail

Hello from Sacramento CA

19 posts in this topic

Hello, my name is Mikail. I live in Sacramento California area. I found out about aquaponics only last year which got me pumped up to go on the journey to build one. It took me a while to gather all the parts necessary to finally assemble the CHOP 3 system.

I have only recently started to cycle the system with 3 grow beds and 300 gallon fish tank. Initial investment has been costly but still cheaper than (2x to 3x cost) prefab aquaponics systems. I am still learning @ the cost of some dead fish 😞. I am not giving up!

I have joined to learn and to share the little experience I have got with my recent 3 weeks start. Hopefully I can get up to speed fast to get my system running smoothly.

Hi Mikhail,

Welcome to APN.

What is a CHOP 3 system?   I was aware of the CHOP 2 system - and that was a disaster from a design (and a fish') perspective.  Has something happened in CHOP 3 to change that?

Gary

Mikhail likes this

Sorry I meant chop 2. Phone typing with my big fingers.

I am curious what are the design flaws with CHOP 2?

So far all bell siphons work like clock, continuous water flow to all grow beds and fish tank. Only problem is that I am concerned about stuff settling in the sump and fish tank (I am testing stuff out how to better stir the stuff at the bottom to circulate it to the grow beds). That's main reason fish died I probably over fed them and the feed settled creating toxic environment for the fish. The fish lived for 3 weeks. It was my fault 😞.

Hi Mikhail,

CHOP 2 is a designer's dog's breakfast.  We canvassed the 'design' back when it first got launched.....see HERE.

The key failing is that it allows for water (laden with fish wastes) to be returned to the fish tank without having first gone through filtration.

Don't be too hard on yourself about losing fish.  That system is, by design, prejudicial to fish health.