Axolotlponics

Axolotl salamanders in Montana

11 posts in this topic

Greetings!

I'm new to aquaponics and so figured it would be a good idea to join a forum and get connected with people more experienced than I. 

As you may have guessed, I'm experimenting with a small scale aquaponics system using axolotl salamanders instead of fish. I have limited space where I live and quite honestly, I don't like the taste of freshwater fish anyway. Also, I believe there are some advantages of using axolotls instead. I just got my 3 axolotl babies today so hopefully getting everything going in the next few days.

I plan to document my experience with this experiment and if there's an interest, would be glad to start a thread about it. 

Also, anyone on here from SW Montana, I'd love to setup a time to come see your system and learn some tips. 

Thanks

Salamanders are very interesting. I currently raise two kinds but locally theirs atleast half dozen kinds. Some rarely get in water just stay in moist dark spots. I've seen two larger kinds away from

Water one was orange with black spots. The other was black with yellow spots.guessing there could be difficult terminology for salamander types such as newt or mudpuppy. Ones I raise live in atleast foot of water and have noticeable gills. Wonder if you are using salamander if it would also be ok to use shrimp crawfish or even snails . Maybe even combination of small aquatic plants fish and variety of aquatic life in AP would be more benifcal than just one alone. Who knows 😀

Hard to say what kind of salamander you're seeing without a picture. Black with yellow spots, I would guess a tiger salamander just because they seem to be to most common in the country.