aquaponix

Hello from Houston, Texas....needing help with tilapia

9 posts in this topic

Hi all, I am in need of some expert help on why my fish are dying at a rate of 1-3 per day for two weeks now.  I am pulling my hair out trying to figure out what the problem is.  Let me give you all the particulars first:

I have been running an IBC tote system in a greenhouse for 9 months now (based on Murray Hallum's IBC system) which is a 275 gallon tank with three 4x4.5 foot grow beds and a sump tank.  I am using one pump to push water from the sump to the grow beds and fish tank. The fish tank return to sump tank is by gravity siphon and each grow bed is a flood and drain system with a bell siphon in each.  The grow beds have hydroton material as substrate and are currently full with tomatoes, green onions, swiss chard, arugula, cucumbers, kale and sweet potato(all greens with no potato).  I had around 50 (now more like 35) happy tilapia fish growing in my tank until around two weeks ago when all of a sudden I am experiencing fish death on a regular basis.  My levels are currently set at: PH 7.2 (this is the only variable that changed in the past month), AMMONIA: 0.25, NITRITE 0, NITRATE 80-100.  I run 7 air diffusers, with a cascading return from the sump tank to the fish tank.  The temperature of the water is around 85-90 degrees, but I don't have fish gasping for air.  I can see the bottom of the tank, so it's not a waste build up, yet I have been performing water changes every three days.  The dead fish seem to have a redness around their gills and when they are about to die, I see some swimming slower and listing to the side at the bottom of the tank.  I added about 5 kg salt to hopefully try and offset any stress they were experiencing, but don't see any difference in amount of loss.  I was wondering if anyone else have had these problems all of a sudden and what solutions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance!