Stephanie

Reasonable to use potassium/calcium chloride to prevent nitrite poisioning?

As an avid aquarium hobbyist, I understand the benefits of maintaining salinity at .5-1% and even more with certain types of fish to prevent nitrite poisoning risks, but would it make more sense to use potassium chloride or calcium chloride instead of sodium chloride, since the plants would benefit from the potassium and calcium?  It seems like this would be a better strategy but maybe I'm missing something?

Seal Salt contains a large range of minerals - in addition to its nitrite-mitagating qualities - so I'd just go with the seal salt.

You can use potassium hydroxide - and calcium hydroxid - on alternate weeks - to maintain pH….and, at the same time, put  potassium and calcium into your system.

Edited by Gary Donaldson (see edit history)

Thanks for the replies Gary and Rupert. You guys are awesome and I appreciate you putting up with my newbie questions.

Do you worry about excess sodium causing nutrient lockout though. I would think calcium and potassium chlorides would be "consumed" better by the plants and still leave elemental chloride for the benefit of the fish, while sodium chloride, even in the form of a more diverse salt mix like sea salt, would end up stockpiling sodium and possibly magnesium, causing issues.

Edited by Stephanie (see edit history)

I use calcium chloride, potassium chloride and sodium chloride in the tilapia hatchery. Sodium chloride is the primary salt used by far, but potassium and calcium chlorides probably account for about 1/8 of the overall amounts routinely added. We maintain an overall salinity level around 0.7%, but occasionally increase this up to 1.5%, or even 2% temporarily. When we do raise the salinity level from the norm, we primarily rely on calcium and potassium chlorides for this "extra" portion. There are reasons why we do this, but that's a subject for another thread. :)