GaryD

The Evolution of a Permaculture Micro-Farm

Hi,

In the coming weeks and months, I'm going to transition our home on Macleay Island to a Permaculture micro-farm.

I'm currently studying a Permaculture Design Certificate course (online) with Geoff Lawton…..a prominent Australian Permaculture teacher.

Successful completion of the program requires that participants submit a design for assessment.  Having completed the course, I'm then deemed to be qualified to work as a consultant…..and to teach Permaculture.

I'll use what I know currently…..and what I learn on the PDC course…..to design my own backyard farm.

I'll also be incorporating Microponics (the integration of fish, plants and micro-livestock) into the design.  Microponics is Permaculture in miniature…..intensive backyard food production - with an appropriate technology twist.

Gary

Edited by Gary Donaldson (see edit history)

Hi,

In the coming days, an arborist will remove two trees in the backyard.  One is a mango and I'll keep the wood from that for fuel and craft wood.  The other is a swamp mahogany (an acacia) and we'll mulch that.  Once the trees are gone, a mini-excavator will move some of the dirt around the backyard - to adjust levels and to create swales for water harvesting.

That will be followed by some tree planting…….I've bought nine Moringa trees (and enough seeds to plant up to 100 more).  I have about twenty comfrey plants ready for transplanting and we've just received the seeds for a diverse range of vegetables and fodder plants.

We have worms and BSF larvae happening already…..and I have a 65 litre container of foul-smelling comfrey tea brewing.

As soon as I manage to complete the new chicken house, we'll be bringing 6 layers and I've also discovered a source of jumbo Japanese quail…..so they'll be purchased as soon as we have built their new quarters, too.

Gary

Hi,