Mountain

I am building my first pond.... :)

16 posts in this topic

I got involved with helping a neighbor build a rock stream and pond, I was trying to stay away from it as I have no previous experience with such things.  Everyone kept falling through on her and finally I just decided to go for it.  It started as  little 16 foot diameter pond, now it is about 22 feet x 30 feet.  It has been quite a learning experience, but very fascinating and I am quite enjoying the experience.

pond5.jpg

pondramp1.jpg

rock10.jpg

pond2-1.jpg

pond4.jpg

I can't wait to build a couple ponds at my place, now that I have a clear idea of how this works.  I could see myself becoming addicted to making these things, very cool looking things...  I have really marshy area below the dam of my pond by the house and I think two ponds one emptying into the other would be  great there, just build a stone bridge look over a clay dam and pipe the overflow through to the lower pond.  Should look really cool and give me a way to drive through that area which I have been unable to do due the mushy ground year round.  That would also give me a place to start raising some Koi where they won't be eaten by my catfish.  Mannnn I can't wait till spring....

Did you dig it by hand? That's a lot! I've wanted to do something similar for my parents at their place. What are your plans for the system?

It was dug out by the neighbor across the road from our farm, he has large track hoe, he also hauls in a lot of the rock for us.  This is not my system I am building it for another neighbor.  She is just going to use it for looks and for her and her dogs to swim in.