bigdaddy

Sous Vide

36 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

Anyone know what sous vide is?...

For those who don't, it's French for under vacuum...

Sous vide cooking has been practiced for years in many restaurants around the world for years but not much domestically until maybe the last 5 years or so in Australia...

The reason for this is the equipment has not been practical to purchase domestically...

The equipment required is a recirculating water oven set up, vacuum sealer and food quality vacuum sealer bags and a skillet, frypan or searing pan of some kind...

Today Sous vides are commonly available in department stores and so are vacuum sealers and bags...

Well I've been investigating sous vide cooking for the last 18 months and figured it was to expensive for me to set up at home until yesterday...

I bought  a Breville Sous vide supreme and replaced my vacuum sealer all on super duper specials... I am wrapped....My wife has given me the customary roasting but I'm happy...

I had a flat out yesterday and yesterday night so today I unboxed them both, defrosted some marinated chicken 1/2s, bagged them up and into the sous vide at 80 degrees fro 4 hours....

The boss did some special cashew dakah potatoes and I did some other veges seared the chicken and had it for dinner...I've got to report it was yuuuuum...Very nice, some Cascade apple cider and I had a happy family :)....

I hope this is not another fad, hopefully I give it some good use...

The vacuum sealed lamb shanks are defrosted now, ready to go into the sous vide at 6am tomorrow morning for a 36 hr cook...Now I'll see if it's as good for helping with saving time as they say it is...

Is there anyone out there doing sous vide?...

Cheers.

Edited by bigdaddy (see edit history)
Old Prospector and Robertbab like this