Dave

Bag In Box Aquaponics (BIBA): a cheap first system you can build

Hello everyone,

I am a social worker interested in promoting sustainable living and educational programs though aquaponics. I created a non-profit organization (www.aquaponia.eu) in Belgium that aims for social-educational-humanitarian impacts. We are working to make aquaponics accessible for everyone.  

BIBA is a system invented by aquaponia asbl. This system has been designed to be financially affordable for people who want to learn about aquaponics.

The particularity of BIBA system is to reuse waterproof bags (wine or fruit juice bags). When you recycle bags, it becomes possible to reuse them as grow beds for your plants. The main advantage of the bag is that it is already equipped with a fitting. Those who have already built an aquaponics system know that bulkhead fittings are often expensive. Reusing bags will remove a significant cost in the construction of a system and it becomes very accessible for the growers who want to experiment for the first time aquaponics. 

In our document "Bag In Box Aquaponics in 10 steps", we explain how to make this system. We have written it in 4 languages ​​( French , Dutch, English and Spanish).
BIBA system is an excellent tool for developing an educational workshop in your classroom. It is also interesting if you want to grow herbs in your kitchen.

Please, if you enjoyed our document, let us know! We are also interested in your achievements and projects. Do not hesitate to send us a photo of your BIBA system!

To download our free 10 step guide : http://www.aquaponia.eu/#!otilsdocs/c89s

post-3539-0-51535300-1397560983_thumb.pn

Hi Dave,

Welcome to Aquaponics Nation.

While "Bag in Box" has a nice ring to it, I wonder how practical it really is when it comes to giving someone their first aquaponics experience.