19 posts in this topic

Hi, My son and I have been experimenting with Aquaponics for the past 4 years and last year built a commercial facility in Londonderry New Hampshire. We are currently only at about 30% capacity plant wise as we cycle the system with four of the twelve 650 gallon fish tanks and two of the three 8' x 75' deep water beds in use. We also have an 8' x 12' NFT area and are experimenting with a few Zip towers. One of our problems was the importation of Tilapia into NH. It took us a while to obtain the licenses and find a breeder the meet the requirements of the NH Fish and Game. As a result we can tell you that tri tail Goldfish will grow as fast or faster from fry than Tilapia in 70 degree water in the same tank eating the same food.

We are keeping the water warm with a high efficiency wood boiler that heats the curculating water through a heat exchanger in the sump tank. Because we are in NH and experience cold winters we built the fish and sump tanks in an insulated basement under the 96' X 34" greenhouse. We have a propane modine heater in the greenhouse set at 34 degrees to prevent the plants freezing during the current cold snaps.

We are producing Kale, Swiss chard, Lettuce, Arugula and Mustard and have started selling a local farmers markets.

If you would like to learn more go to

https://www.facebook.com/victoryaquaponics

and wish us luck, we may need it.

Thanks Ross

post-3386-0-83837000-1389105546_thumb.jp

post-3386-0-08814900-1389105653_thumb.jp

post-3386-0-94968900-1389105720_thumb.jp

Hi VA

Welcome to APN nice set up and pics

Good luck to you specially thru the record freeze  you have now in the US

cheers

Hi Victory Aquaponics

What a great looking set up and wishing you success in your new venture.

Cheers

Joey

Hi Victory Aquaponics,

Welcome to APN.

Could you tell us a bit more about your set up?

Is it premised on any particular model?

Regards……Gary

Ross,