Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
egduzant

Aquaponics System SXM

6 posts in this topic

Dear All with-in this forum,

Thank you Gary for the welcoming me to this medium, As stated I’m a newbie to this method of raising fish andplants, after pouring through quite a bit of information on this forum andonline I came up with a system setup I would like to try. Since I already havea fish tank I decided to build my system around it base on it size.

I live on a tropical island where everything with regards tofood is imported and looking for an alternative way to supply my house hold andgain much experience in Aquaponics.

Attached is a plan I came up with if someone could review itI would appreciated all your input on making this challenge a success.

My proposed system to build is as follows;

Fish Tank 880 Gallons

6 Grow Bed each 24 Cubic Feet in Size, which is 4’x6’x1’

1 filter between the FT and the GB (this filter base on your experience whatsize and type should it be base on the size of the system.

Sump Tank is on the return from the grow beds (this I also need helpdetermining the size and type for the system).

I’m planning to use ¾†gravel in my grow Beds, withbell siphon, with the bell pipe diameter of 3†and stand pipe drain size of 1 ½for an ebb and flow system. (Would you recommend this for this system).

Could you advise the best size PVC pipes to used for the outof the fish tank and the return via the sump, I was thinking 1†for the bluelines and 1 ½ for the red lines as per my drawing.

I’m planning to used 333 fish base on my understanding onthe average is 1 fish to 10 liters of water or 2 ½ gallons per fish.

What would be the best way to aerate the system, and thesize pump recommended for this size system to supply the water from the fishtank through the filter to the GB’s

Any thoughts on calculating the water flow rate into and outof the grow beds and what would be the best manner of doing such.