Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kenners

Aquaponics in Melbourne & temperature!

14 posts in this topic

G'day everyone,

I'm interested to know if anyone is successfully producing any fish in Melbourne out of their system.

I have been doing this for about 3-4 years now, and so far no fish have actually been harvested.

I have 2 setups using IBC tanks. I started out with Tandanus catfish and silver perch in both.

However I was getting a bit 'over' the electricity bills to heat the water during the colder months. I know the natives should survive without heating but then they don't grow and are prone to disease.

After I lost all (25) in one of the IBC's to white spot, I decided to go for rainbow trout - I really wanted to get rid of the heaters! I still have catfish and silvers in the other one.

However, with the 40 deg day yesterday I have so far lost 5 trout.

I guess I'm just wondering if maybe I'm trying to achieve the impossible.

Is anyone in Melbourne - or somewhere with a similar climate (i.e. 40 deg one week then back down to 14-20 the next) actually able to keep fish alive without resorting to expensive heating or cooling of their tanks?

Sorry to sound a bit negative - but the dead fish are very frustrating.... :P

Hi kenners

I also live in Melbourne and have been doing aquaponics since 2010. I have silver perch and murray cod however they are very slow growing and I have never harvested any of these fish. I have managed to grow out and harvest trout and I am currently carrying 30 rainbow trout. Whether I can get them through the summer will depend on how many successive hot days we get. On hot days I increase aeration using an additional airpump and water pump. You could try increasing your aeration on hot days.

You can always stock your trout starting late March and harvest end November when the hot days arrive. Buy some good sized advanced fingerlings to start off with.

Cheers

Joey

Edited by Joey (see edit history)

Hi Kenners,