Sign in to follow this  
helomech

Catfish dying?

I put 100 2-3 inch long catfish in my tank a week ago. For the first few days we only lost a couple fish right when they where put in. Now we seem to be loosing 5 or so a day. My Ammonia is 0, ph is high 8.2 not sure about the rest I can never get my nitrite, nitrate readings to match any color on the strip. Any ideas. I am very new to this, so I don't know how to safely lower my PH. But my system was running since January with Bass and Perch caught from my pond and I had zero loses of fish.

I would get a Master freshwater test kit.. I don't place much faith in strips to be honest with you. To adjust your pH down to around 7.0 using hydrochloric acid (or similar) But we aware it's important that you don't get a combination of high ammonia levels and high pH......because the ammonia becomes more toxic.

Hea Helo

that's a bummer about the catfish....

on your High Ph, it depends on what is making it high..... is it the water naturally high, or is your GB media making it high...?

I don't like the Test Strips they have never worked very well for me. I and most others use the API test kits for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, and a swimming pool test kit for Ph and Chlorine Some use the API Master fresh water Test Kit, that includes Ph and all the other tests....

if the top up water is High, you can lower the ph slowly, by filling up a barrel with High ph water, and adding some Pool acid to it till the Ph is below 7, and then adding that water to the tank water as a top up, little by little to slowly bring the PH down..

If the grow bed media is the problem, than that media is not suitable, and has too much lime stone or sea shells or other Hi ph rocks keeping the water Ph High