wetauser

My pond and first AP system

19 posts in this topic

Thought I would post some pictures of my set up as it is now just starting.although from the plant to the left of the grow bed you can see that I am already using the nitrates the growth rate on this plant is huge and has to be given frequent hair cuts.the blue tub contains brushes and the water enters at the top and flows down to remove solids mainly algae before it enters the gravel, the outlet pipe is purposely high to cause splashing and provide a cooler environment by evaporation or so I hope,as it is my first try I am experimenting.post-5284-13795788889324_thumb.jpg

post-5284-13795788888098_thumb.jpg

post-5284-13795788888696_thumb.jpg

Looking at your pictures, Kind of miss Thailand. But then I remember the heat and I am okay... LOL

Yes I have to work for about 15 minutes then go for a cool down,some times I even get in with the Koi they don,t seem to mind or have never said anything to me yet.

But cool season coming soon! best time of year,

Just now I pump the water from the chamber that the three bottom pond drains flow to,but after reading about the nitrogen cycle would I be better to pump from the final chamber after all the filtering has taken place and maximum ammonia converted to nitrates ,or is there a further stage in which bacteria convert nitrate to nitrogen and rob me of the nutrient?

Edited by wetauser (see edit history)

wow, you're doing a great job, nice pictures! I'm also planning to have my own pond in our backyard.

these pictures kinda inspire me more. thanks for sharing!

post-5284-13795789016577_thumb.jpg