Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Paul Dean

Greetings Aquaponicians

19 posts in this topic

Hi folks, I'm new to aquaponics but absolutely fascinated by the possibilities. I'm Paul from Northern California USA. I'm dreaming up a small-medium scale solar greenhouse with aquaponics, where I will raise (most likely) Tilapia and vegetables in some sort of flood and drain beds. Am investigating the possibility of doing something like the Speraneo system in one temperature- controlled greenhouse,(using mostly passive solar heating and cooling) and having a cooler-water fish in a second much smaller greenhouse that is connected to a biogas generator. If we can do this, the biogas will be used to supplement heat during extended cloudy weather in the climate controlled Tilapia greenhouse. I want to grow duckweed as a large component of the fish food, and raise black soldier-fly larvae and possibly some seed crop, in an effort to create a closed loop (as much as is practical) feed and food production system. Would appreciate any feedback by persons knowledgeable in these endeavors, about the overall concept, what major obstacles I might encounter, etc. Looking forward to participating here, glad to know there are a lot of smart dedicated people working on these problems......thanks!

Welcome to Aquaponics HQ!! Glad you joined the fun. Sounds like you have a serious plan formed for your aquapoincs system.. I guess you will need to enlist the aid of google sketch-up. I am sure your endeavors into sustainable farming well be supported by the members of the forum, The members here are very helpful. Once again welcome to the forum..

Hello Paul,

Welcome to APHQ! Great to have you on board. It sounds like you've got a very cool project ahead of you. We'll be here to help and support you along the way, so don't be shy. :)

Edited by kellenw (see edit history)