Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
kingjam

Planning Stage of My Aquaponioc System

27 posts in this topic

Hello Everyone,

I am a retired middle school teacher living in Florida. I am planning to develop a aquaponic system using two 275 gallon IBC totes which I have bought and cut off the top at the very top and cleaned out. I cut the totes at the very top so that I would maximize the volume of the fish tanks. I will use 55 gallon blue barrels cut lengthwise in halves to act as my growbeds.

There are so many questions that I have I am afraid to make a start. At this point, I would appreciate advice from anyone as to how to proceed. I am anxious to learn from your experiences.

Some of the questions are about: system design, suitable and best pump to use, how to collect waste and remove from the IBC totes using only one economical poump, etc.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Kingjam

First off welcome.

Here is an animation of how a CHOP system works

http://www.aquaponics.net.au/Chops.html

I don’t like CHOP 2 as much but here is how it works it has some advantages and disadvantages.

http://www.aquaponics.net.au/ChopMk2.html

Mean and Green has a small system that is using blue barrels.

http://www.aquaponicshq.com/forums/showthread.php/6070-Hello-everyone-just-finished-my-first-system-check-it-out

Well in order to have enough grow beds to grow you want at least a one to one ratio of fish tank water to the amount of gallons of grow bed. So technically you need 11, 55 gallon barrels. Cut them in half lengthwise to form 22 grow-beds. This should be equivalent to the water stored in the two ibc tanks. Then you can also use another 55 gallon barrel and dig it into the ground and use it as your sump. So in all you would need around 12 barrels. I hope this helps, just make sure to have a sump, they really help. If you have any questions shoot them at me.