Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sonelin

A Question about a greenhouse for zone 6.

6 posts in this topic

I am new to Aquaponics but have done a little with hydroponics. I have grown some food indoors using an ebb and flow setup and a light. I want to build a small outdoor setup that I can use year round. I live in North West Missouri or zone 6 -23 to -18c or -10 to 0 F. So I will need to build a greenhouse to protect the water from freezing during winter months.

I just moved to a new house that I am working on rehabbing and would like to build a Lean-to greenhouse / system out back. The spot I have selected is 8’ x 14’ I am looking at attaching a greenhouse on the south side of my 1905 carriage house.

My first question is would you recommend that I build a pit style greenhouse by digging down 4’ to 6’ building retaining walls before making the lean-to? This would kind of help the thermal mass retain heat during the winter and keep it a little colder during the summer. It would also allow me to get a little more head room on the south side of it.

The second question is on tank placement. Would you recommend putting the fish tank in the greenhouse or in the unheated dark garage (with a water heater in tank)? My thought is if I put it in the greenhouse the water will pick up some of the heat during the day and keep the fish happy and healthy in the winter months. During the summer I will need to keep windows open / fan to vent the heat. I also have read that I need to keep the water out of the light so that algae does not grow fast.

Thanks,

Brad

Hi Brad,

Welcome to APHQ.

You'll find your hydroponic experience will stand you in good stead as you expand into aquaponics.

Given your freezing winters, you'd be better off setting up a basic recirculating aquaculture system and hook up growing systems during the warmer months........since you're not going to be able to grow much in the way of plants in the dead of winter anyway.