Sign in to follow this  
GaryD

Golden Perch

Hi,

I recently purchased 50 Lake Eyre strain golden perch fingerlings from Ausyfish.

Contrary to what we'd heard from other sources, they have (so far) proven to be easy to manage. They are eating and growing.

I've eaten wild caught golden perch so I know that I'll like eating this lot when they get to plate size.

In my home state of South Australia, they are called callop, while here in Queensland, their colloquial name is yellowbelly.

Anyone else had experience of this species?

Gary

yep I bought 50 from Ausyfish as well, Im very new to aquaponics so I guess I lacked the experience to manage these fish. One by one they all died ! I just couldnt seem to get them to take the artificial feed. Perhaps with a bit more knowledge and experience I could be successfull but I think I will leave this species alone for a few years at least.

Hi Phil,

I'm sorry to hear about your fish. I've heard a few people say that they are difficult to get onto feed. I've even heard one commentator suggest that, not only are they not good fish for aquaponics, but that they are not even suited to aquaculture.

Mine seem to be going OK at the moment......knock on wood.

Gary

Hi,

My golden perch are powering along......slowly.

Last night, we moved them out of my Queenslander system and put them back into a small mega bin system.

Hopefully, now that we can see them (they usually hid in the centre drain pipe in the Queenslander for most of the time), I'm hoping that we can tame them a bit......and get them to feed a bit harder.

Interestingly, this little system is the same thing that I started out with. Whenever we need a system at short notice, I just round up a mega bin and my trickling bio-filters and put it together.

While it lacks the refinements of my latest system designs, these little mega bin systems are arguably the quickest way to get backyard aquaculture going.......particularly for fingerlings.