Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rhoptowit

noobie build, 33 gallon grow out w/ 30 gallon sump.

14 posts in this topic

hello, brand new to the site as well as aquaponics. This is my first build and im pretty much starting from a zero knowledge base, so any help, opinions, or critiques will very much be appreciated.

to start it off im going to be building a system with roughly 50-60 gallons of total water volume. A simple stand with the grow out on top, and sump on the bottom. Plumbing will be as simple as possible, with one overflow set for auto siphon and another overflow for safety/redundancy. im planning to just drill the bottom of the grow out tank and use a couple bulkheads. still deciding if i want to just have the return go over the edge of the grow out tank or drill a hole in the grow out tank for it. here are some pics of what im planning.

Aquaponics_2.png

Aquaponics_1.png

the grow out will be a custom plastic container, hopefully my friend can get me a sweet deal on one. the bottom tank will be a standard 30 gallon fish tank. return pump im thinking ehiem 1260. idk what kind of fish to get for this small of a system that would be ideal. i was thinking tilapia.

couple questions i have thus far are: is surface skimming important in the grow out tank? also you guys think i should paint the fish tanks sides black? want to avoid algae since this will be sitting in sunlight.

Hi Rhoptowit,

That was quick.

We have a number of members who run similar small AP systems......so you there'll be no shortage of help when you need it.

.....what kind of fish to get for this small of a system that would be ideal. i was thinking tilapia.

Tilapia seems the ideal choice to me - given your location.

couple questions i have thus far are: is surface skimming important in the grow out tank? also you guys think i should paint the fish tanks sides black? want to avoid algae since this will be sitting in sunlight.