Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GreenFin

Hi from Kansas

5 posts in this topic

Hi everybody :)

I am currently upsizing from my proof-of-concept stage (a small system I've been operating outdoors for about 4 months) to an enclosed greenhouse stage (24x36 with a 6k fish tank). I intend to build this new greenhouse & AP system over the next 2-3 weeks.

Cheers,

GFF

Hi Kellen,

You might remember me. I picked up 2 dozen blue tilapia from your house about 2-3 months ago. I only talked with your wife (you were down the hall in the kitchen). I was the guy who couldn't buy the fish food she had set out because I didn't have any cash on me (didn't realize I'd need it). If it helps, I'm 34, 6'4" 260, and had a thick brown beard and beige visor at the time.

Regarding your tilapia...guess what I learned? While fry like to hide in gravel, they're not all smart enough to come back out into open water before they get too big to get back out lol. When I got home I put them into a 5ft diameter wading pool that was mostly filled with gravel for use as a grow bed. I had dug out a small section of the gravel, giving them a 3-5 gallon pool in which to live with plenty of vegetation cover. Within a day almost all of them had gone exploring into the gravel (1-2" river bed gravel). Only 4 ever came back out. Lesson learned: don't rear fry where they can get themselves lost and/or trapped away from open water.

Hope all is well with you and yours.

Oh no! Really sorry to hear you lost so many of your fish. I would suggest using a 5 or 10 gallon aquarium without any gravel or any other structure to grow them out to about 2 inches or so next time around. Add an air powered sponge filter, and you are all set.

Let us know if you need anything. We're always happy to help. :)

Hey GreenFinFoods,