Sign in to follow this  
AlmostGosu

New Build - Looking for tips

Hi all,

I have extensive experience keeping fresh and saltwater fish, but this is going to be my first foray into aquaponics and I'd like to avoid as many mistakes up front as possible. I have a rough drawing of what I'm looking to build I made on Garage Greenhouse | Tinkercad that you can view to see details.
image.thumb.png.1d1c472cfb60ba0d67b9a06bbf1b7ea1.png

Numbers details below:

4x 330g tanks that will be stocked with trout, striped bass, and talapia (2x) (dark blue)
100g conical tank for filtering solids (dark brown 1)
160g cylindrical tank with 200 cuft (about 140g) of k1 media (dark brown 2)
100g sump tank (horizontal tank to be the lowest point in the system) (light blue)
3000gph external pond pump adjacent to sump tank
4 4'x8' media beds (dark green)
2 4'x8' DWC beds (light green)
4 IBC wicking bins (medium green?)
Lighting TBD - currently looking at 12x Covert x500s but the price tag is steep, I want something with a controller
Orange / Black shelving are for microgreens and utility storage

I'm planning to plumb everything together with flexible hose, ball valves at the inlets for media & DWC beds so I have granular control over flow given the height differential. Ball valves with unions on both sides anywhere I might need to detach a line for maintenance. The fish tanks and settler tank will be raised so I can run everything off one pump and for ease of maintenance.