wilsonmj

Raising Fish at School

4 posts in this topic

Hey All,

I am a middle school teacher in Ohio and am working on a project with the local boy scouts.  We would like to get some game fish at the fry stage in the fall and raise them in a 55 gallon tank.  Then take them and release them in their pond in the spring.  I have done this with a trout in the classroom project, but it has become more of problem with meeting the states requirement for where we have to release them.  I have talked with fish and game about the type of fish, they suggested Bluegill, Redear Sunfish or Catfish for the pond.  Here are my questions:

How many fish should I get for a 55 gallon tank assuming I get them in the fry stage like 2-4 inches in length?

Can I raise more than one breed at a time or should I just stick with one for now?

Should we get something like crayfish to help clean up the tank naturally?

Types of plants we should have?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi wilsonmj

Welcome to APN/HQ

Hopefully @Cecil see your post and chime in with some advice on this.

Cecil is located in Indiana so the regulations might differ from Ohio, but he has run a few school projects along side with his commercial fish farming.

cheers

Posted (edited)

Hey All,

I am a middle school teacher in Ohio and am working on a project with the local boy scouts.  We would like to get some game fish at the fry stage in the fall and raise them in a 55 gallon tank.  Then take them and release them in their pond in the spring.  I have done this with a trout in the classroom project, but it has become more of problem with meeting the states requirement for where we have to release them.  I have talked with fish and game about the type of fish, they suggested Bluegill, Redear Sunfish or Catfish for the pond.  Here are my questions:

How many fish should I get for a 55 gallon tank assuming I get them in the fry stage like 2-4 inches in length?